Skip to main content

EFF Presents the 27th Annual Pioneer Awards Ceremony

 Registration is closed for this event

On September 27th in San Francisco, we will be celebrating the work of the 2018 Pioneer Award winners, Joe McNamee, Sarah T. Roberts and Stephanie Lenz, with our esteemed Master of Ceremonies, Daniel Ellsberg! The celebration will include drinks, bytes, and excellent company. Join us!

Thursday, September 27, 2018
6:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Delancey Street's
Town Hall Room
600 The Embarcadero, San Francisco

6:00 pm Reception
7:30 pm Awards ceremony

9:00 pm Post-event mingling

EFF established the Pioneer Awards in 1992 to recognize leaders on the electronic frontier who are extending freedom and innovation in the realm of information technology. The awards celebrate those who have contributed substantially to the health, growth, accessibility, or freedom of computer-based communications. Their contributions may be technical, social, legal, academic, economic, or cultural. See a list of past winners.

Special thanks to Anonyome Labs, Dropbox, and Ron Reed for supporting the EFF and the 2018 Pioneer Awards. If you or your company are interested in learning more about sponsorship, please contact

EFF is proud to welcome you to the Pioneer Awards! Check out our Event Expectations for information about how we address harassment.

September 27, 2018 6:00 PM through 10:00 PM
Delancey Street Town Hall
600 Embarcadero St.
San Francisco, CA 94107
United States
Event Fee(s)
Regular Event Ticket $ 75.00
Current EFF Member Event Ticket $ 65.00

Help spread the word!

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page : EFF Presents the 27th Annual Pioneer Awards Ceremony
JavaScript license information